# TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD

#### **MEETING MINUTES**

Of August 19, 2022

# Call to Order:

Chairperson Alderman Walter Miller called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:04 am at the Blue Flame Building, 17th Floor (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901, and also conducted the meeting telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
Alderman 1, Town of Horizon City	Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, El Paso International Airport
Judge, El Paso County	Joseph Cervantes	NM State Senator, District 31
City of Socorro, District 3 Representative	Dino Coronado	Alderman, Town of Clint
District Engineer, NMDOT	Ellen Smyth	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro
TX State Representative – 75th District	Benjamin Romero	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX
City Manager, City of El Paso	Yvette Hernandez	CID Grant Funded Program Director, COEP
City of El Paso Representative – District 3	Iliana Holguin	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3
TX State Senator	Willie Madrid	NM State Representative District 53
TX State Representative – 79th District	Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District
Mayor, Village of Vinton	Claudia Ordaz-Perez	TX State Representative – 76th District
City of El Paso Representative – District 8	-	
Mayor, City of El Paso	-	
Mayor, City of San Elizario, TX		
Mayor, Anthony, NM	-	
TX State Representative – 77 <sup>th</sup> District	MPO STAFF	
Assistant Public Works Director, County of El Paso	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
Mayor, Sunland Park, NM	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
City of El Paso Representative - District 7	Harrison Plourde	Assistant Director
County Commissioner, Doña Ana County	Jeff Howell	Senior Planner
District Engineer, TXDOT El Paso District	Tim McDaniel	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
	Claudia Valles	Transportation Planner
	Gabriela Lopez	Transportation Financial Analyst
	OTHERS PRESENT	
Greg Heitman – FHWA	<u> </u>	
Marc Oliphant - FTA		
	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon City   Judge, El Paso County   City of Socorro, District 3 Representative   District Engineer, NMDOT   TX State Representative – 75th District   City of El Paso Representative – District 3   TX State Representative – 79th District   Mayor, Village of Vinton   City of El Paso Representative – District 8   Mayor, Village of Vinton   City of El Paso Representative – District 8   Mayor, City of El Paso   Mayor, City of San Elizario, TX   Mayor, Anthony, NM   TX State Representative – 77th District   Assistant Public Works Director, County of El Paso   Mayor, Sunland Park, NM   City of El Paso Representative - District 7   County Commissioner, Doña Ana County   District Engineer, TXDOT El Paso District   Greg Heitman – FHWA	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon City Sam Rodriguez   Judge, El Paso County Joseph Cervantes   District Engineer, NMDOT Ellen Smyth   TX State Representative – 75 <sup>th</sup> District Benjamin Romero   City of El Paso Representative – District 3 Iliana Holguin   TX State Senator Willie Madrid   TX State Representative – 79 <sup>th</sup> District Joe Moody   Mayor, Village of Vinton Claudia Ordaz-Perez   City of El Paso Representative – District 8 Interpretentation   Mayor, City of El Paso Mayor, City of San Elizario, TX   Mayor, City of San Elizario, TX MPO STAFF   Assistant Public Works Director, County of El Paso Sergio Estrada   Mayor, Sunland Park, NM Eduardo Calvo   City of El Paso Representative – District 7 Harrison Plourde   County Commissioner, Doña Ana County Jeff Howell   District Engineer, TXDOT El Paso District Tim McDaniel   Claudia Valles Gabriela Lopez

(Meeting began with 17 members)

•Chairperson, Walter Miller opened Public Comment:

1. Jose Barriga commented.

• Chairperson, Walter Miller, closed Public Comment.

#### **DISCUSSION AND ACTION:**

1. Minutes of the July 22, 2022, EPMPO TPB meeting.

Motion to approve the minutes of the July 22, 2022, EPMPO TPB meeting made by Mayor Oscar Leeser and seconded by Representative Lina Ortega. Motion passed unanimously.

- 2. Consider adoption of Second Performance Period Report for CMAQ traffic congestion and on-road mobile source emissions targets
  - Walter Miller commented
  - Cassandra Hernandez commented

Motion to adopt the Second Performance Period Report for CMAQ traffic congestion and on-road mobile source emissions targets made by Judge Ricardo Samaniego and seconded by Yvette Hernandez. Motion passed unanimously.

 Consider authorizing the Executive Director to sign the First Amendment to the Grant Agreement between El Paso MPO and the New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT) for the 2050 Travel Demand Model, Statewide Planning and Research (SPR) - Part A Funding

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to sign the First Amendment to the Grant Agreement between El Paso MPO and the New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT) for the 2050 Travel Demand Model, Statewide Planning and Research (SPR) - Part A Funding made by Representative Lina Ortega and seconded by Judge Ricardo Samaniego. Motion passed unanimously.

- 4. Consider adopting a resolution of support and commitment to be included in the El Paso MPO's grant application for a Safety Action Plan to be submitted to the Safe Streets for All (SS4A) federal program.
  - Walter Miller commented
  - Sergio Estrada commented
  - •

The following members if the public commented on the item:

1. Scott White

Motion to adopt a resolution of support and commitment to be included in the El Paso MPO's grant application for a Safety Action Plan to be submitted to the Safe Streets for All (SS4A) federal program. made by Mayor Oscar Leeser and seconded by Commissioner Manuel Sanchez. Motion passed unanimously.

### **REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:**

- 5. Administrative Amendment to NM 404 Widening Project Presenter: Gabriela Lopez (MPO)
  - Trent Doolittle commented
- 6. FY 2024-2025 Transportation Alternative Set Aside (TASA) Program Call for Projects Presenter: Tim McDaniel (MPO)
- 7. EPMPO Federal Transit Administration (FTA) 5310 Request for Proposals for Fiscal Years (FY) 2023-2024 Presenter: Jeff Howell (MPO)
- 8. NM CMAQ Mandatory Call for Projects Presenter: Gabriela Lopez (MPO)
- 9. RMS 2020 Project Status Report Presenter: Gabriela Lopez (MPO)

- 10. Executive Director's Report
  - a) IIJA Funding Programs and Regional Opportunities
  - b) Statewide TxDOT-MPO Safety Task Force
  - c) 2022 Federal Certification Review for El Paso MPO

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo, Executive Director (MPO)

The next meeting of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>September 23, 2022</u>, at the at Blue Flame Building, Floor 17 (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Ave, El Paso, TX 79901

11. Adjournment.

Motion to adjourn at 10:03 a.m. made by Mayor Oscar Leeser, seconded by Representative Cassandra Hernandez. Motion carried unanimously.

Approved as to content:

00

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area